Formed in 1973, the Western Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils (WSROC) is a membership organisation that represents eight local councils in the Greater Western Sydney region.


WSROC's members include: Blacktown City Council, Blue Mountains City Council, Cumberland Council, Fairfield City Council, Hawkesbury City Council, Lithgow City Council, Liverpool City Council and City of Parramatta.


With a reputation for considered policy analysis and bipartisan advocacy, WSROC brings a collective voice to those issues which are crucial for Greater Western Sydney's growing population. These include transport, employment, regional planning, arts, health and sustainability. 


WSROC is responsible for many improvements in these areas and has helped to create a number of the region's institutions and agencies.


WSROC's primary role is to represent the councils and communities of Greater Western Sydney, as well as developing resource sharing and other co-operative projects between member councils. WSROC also manages a number of projects, which are either funded jointly by its members or from external sources. Recent examples of these projects include:


    • Light Years Ahead An energy-efficient street light replacement project funded by participating councils and the Australian Government.



    • Western Sydney Business Investment Program Together with four project partners and Western Sydney councils, this program aims to develop an overarching strategic framework for marketing the region to the domestic and international business community. 



    • Shop.Cook.Save. A regional food waste avoidance program including a series of educational cooking demonstrations for the community. Funded by the NSW EPA's Love Food Hate Waste program.



 The many faces of western sydney